skip to Main Content


Executive Director

Dr. Joffe is the Paula A. Johnson Professor of Psychiatry in the Field of Women’s Health at Harvard Medical School and the Executive Vice Chair for Academic and Faculty Affairs in the Department of Psychiatry at BWH. With joint positions at BWH and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Dr. Joffe directs the Women’s Hormones and Aging Research Program. In her role as Executive Director of the Connors Center, Dr. Joffe has worked to develop a structure for faculty and trainees to forge new ground in women’s health investigation and ensure that research is translatable to patient care and aligned with women’s health advocacy priorities. She continues to work to establish the Connors Center as a resource to advance and train women’s health investigators, who are essential to expanding the field. This includes those who are currently working on women’s health research, as well as other investigators who may be able to incorporate some element that is related to women’s health into their existing research.

She is an experienced clinician and NIH-funded researcher in women’s mental health.  Her work is dedicated to advancing the understanding, treatment, and consequences of symptoms resulting from reproductive hormone changes in the brain. Her clinical and research work focuses on the course, mechanisms, and treatment of menopausal symptoms – including hot flashes, sleep disturbance, depression, and fatigue – in healthy women and in breast cancer patients.

Dr. Joffe received her medical degree from Cornell University Medical College and her master’s degree in epidemiology from the Harvard Chan School of Public Health. She completed her residency training in psychiatry at McLean Hospital and a fellowship in women’s mental health at Massachusetts General Hospital. In recognition of her contributions to and leadership of women’s health research, she was awarded the Thomas Clarkson Outstanding Clinical & Basic Science Research Award from the North American Menopause Society, as well as the Stuart T. Hauser MD PhD Mentorship Award.

Back To Top